Ronald M. Mankoff Alumni Panel

Ronald M. Mankoff, Beta Iota (Minnesota) '54, is the co-founder, along with his wife, Joy, of the Mankoff Family Foundation. A retired Dallas attorney, Ronald M. Mankoff was active in the Dallas legal community for more than 45 years and served in senior leadership positions in many local and national organizations.

The Ronald M. Mankoff Alumni Panel is a leadership program set in a talk show-style format which engages both ZBT undergraduate and alumni attendees as the panelists share career and life stories and advice. Attendees are able to interact with the panelists through a question and answer dialogue.

2017 International Convention panelists include:


Dr. Robert (Bob) E. Fischell, Alpha Upsilon (Duke University) ’51

FISCHELLrobert125Brother Fischell received his BSME degree from Duke University and MS and ScD (honorary) degrees from the University of Maryland. Dr. Fischell was employed at the Johns Hopkins University, Applied Physics Laboratory for 25 years where he actively developed more than 50 spacecraft for the US Navy and for NASA. Starting in 1969, Dr. Fischell began the formation of 15 private companies that licensed his patents on medical devices including heart pacemakers, defibrillators, coronary stents and devices to treat epilepsy and migraine headaches. Dr. Fischell is a prolific inventor with over 200 issued U.S. and foreign patents that have been the basis for medical devices that have been implanted in more than 10 million patients on a worldwide basis. Dr. Fischell’s honors include Inventor of the Year for the USA in 1984, election to the National Academy of Engineering in 1996, and several medals for distinguished accomplishments in science, engineering and innovation. In 2004 Discover magazine gave Dr. Fischell their annual award for Technology for Humanity. In 2005 he received the TED award (with a $100,000 prize) for contributions to medical technology. Also in 2005 Dr. Fischell provided a philanthropic gift of $30M to create and fund the Fischell Department of Bioengineering at the University of Maryland. In 2007 he received the prestigious Woodrow Wilson Prize for Public Service from the Woodrow Wilson Society for Scholars. In May 2008 he received an honorary degree as Doctor of Humane Letters from the Johns Hopkins University in recognition of his many contributions for the betterment of mankind. In the first half of the year 2016 he received the Lifetime Achievement Award from the Technical Council of Maryland, election as a Fellow of the National Academy of Inventors, and on May 17 at the White House, he received from President Obama the National Medal for Technology and Innovation.



Former Mankoff Alumni Panel panelists have included Congressman Martin Frost, Omega (University of Missouri) '64; Craig S. Chanoff, Beta Zeta Epsilon (University of Maryland – College Park) '97, a Vice President at Blackboard, Inc.; John E. Mitchell, Gamma (Northwestern University) '84, executive coach and consultant; Doug Maine, Alpha Beta (Temple University) '70, former CFO of IBM Corporation and MCI; Howard Pizer, Alpha Kappa (University of Wisconsin) '63, Executive Vice President of the Chicago White Sox; Sam Massell, Mu (University of Georgia) '48, former Mayor of the City of Atlanta; Steve Cooley, Gamma Nu (Cal State – Los Angeles) '70, former District Attorney for the County of Los Angeles; Jeff Sloan, Theta (University of Pennsylvania) '89, President of Global Payments Inc. (NYSE: GPN); Mark Itkin, Alpha Rho (UCLA) '74, Vice President of the William Morris Agency; Steve Gold, Alpha Omega (University of Miami) '00, Senior Vice President – Wealth Management at UBS; Adam D. Isrow, Alpha Omicron (University of Arizona) '92, Co-Founder & Executive Vice President of; Joel M. Epstein, Sigma (Tulane University) ’87, founder and CEO of Friction Factor; Lawrence A. Klatzkin, Theta (University of Pennsylvania) '79, Managing Director with Rice, Voelker, LLC; Walter L. Sutton, Jr., Ph.D., Iota (University of Denver) '67, Associate General Counsel for Wal-Mart Stores, Inc.; and Jon K. Hirschtick, Xi (Massachusetts Institute of Technology) '83, Founder and Chairman of the Board of Onshape.